Die Polychromie antiker Skulpturen stellt auf dem internationalen Parkett der Altertumswissenschaftler ein sich rege entwickelndes und stetig wachsendes Forschungsgebiet dar. Hellenistische Skulpturen blieben in diesem Rahmen jedoch bislang ein Desiderat, das mit dieser Publikation nun vorliegt.
Basierend auf einer Untersuchung von über einhundert hellenistischen Skulpturen mit modernen Techniken und Methoden zeigt die Studie, wie Statuen dieser Zeit mit ihrer polychromen Gestaltung, also ihrer Farbfassung und Ergänzung durch Attribute aus anderen Materialien, aussahen.
Eine erstmalige Hinzunahme von Vergleichsbeispielen anderer Gattungen, insbesondere von Terrakotten, unterstützt die Auswertung. Darüber hinaus geht die Arbeit der Frage nach, welche für die Interpretation der einzelnen Skulptur wichtigen Informationen dem Statuenkörper durch seine Bemalung oder Anstückungen hinzugefügt wurden.
In weiteren Kapiteln widmet sich die Arbeit den ausführenden Handwerkern, der Pflege, Instandhaltung und den Reparaturmaßnahmen der polychromen Gestaltung. Eine zusätzliche Bereicherung erfährt die Studie durch die Berücksichtigung und neue Übersetzung antiker literarischer Quellen sowie Schatzinschriften delischer Heiligtümer. Die breitgefächerten Fragestellungen werden von einem ausführlichen Katalog und einem umfangreichen Abbildungsteil in Farbe begleitet (Siegl).
Bogen Eckersberg er udgivet i anledning af udstillingerne: Eckersberg - En smuk løgn, Statens Museum for Kunst, København og Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg - Faszination Wirklichkeit, Hamborg samt C.W. Eckersberg, Paris.
Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg (1783-1853) er en af de betydeligste danske kunstnere. Omkring 1815 skabte han i Rom grundlaget for en hel epokes dansk kunst, den såkaldte guldalder. Eckersbergs kunst er på én gang præget af stor præcision i skildringen af alle detaljer og af ønsket om at vise motiverne fra deres bedste side. Han fravalgte det tilfældige og grimme. Ofte justerede og "forbedrede" han motiverne.
Bogen giver et indblik i Eckersbergs liv og karriere og belyser hans kunst i forhold til den samtidige internationale kunst. Endvidere kaster bogen nyt lys på hans kunst ved at sætte fokus på fem centrale temaer: natursyn, portrætskildring, menneskekroppen, historiefortælling og billedkonstruktion. Bogen, der er skrevet af en række førende kendere af Eckersbergs kunst, er udgivet i anledning af udstillingen Eckersberg. En smuk løgn.
This volume presents the proceedings of a conference held in September 2001 in conjunction with the conservation of two reliquary shrines of the 11th and 12th century at the Musée d'art et e'histoire in Geneva. The papers present an overview of the state-of-the-art of conservation and technological studies of medieval precious metalwork in Europe.
This volume contains papers written in either English, French or German. It is published jointly by Archetype Publications and the Fondation pour la restauration de deux chefs-d'oeuvre d'orfèvrerie du Haut Moyen Âge à Sion et Saint-Maurice.
Contents: The problem of Cultural Heritage conservation is growing in importance. This is due to the increasing interest and sensitivity in this field, as well as the large awareness of the uniqueness of the works of art that have been preserved up to the present generation. Nevertheless, not much knowledge has been developed up to now on the non-destructive diagnosis of the environment in which the works of art are being exhibited and preserved. The people in charge of the restoration, the transport, the exhibition and, at a general level, the management of the works of art often don't have enough background on and familiarity with the Microclimate inside Cultural Heritage buildings. Hence, this book has been written with the aim to fill this big gap in the world of scientific publishing and to provide the basis of microclimatology applied to Cultural Heritage conservation. The subject is being covered a simple way, rich in suggestions and important case-studies as examples. Part of the book is focused on the theoretical background of microclimatic monitoring, with an in depth study of the methodology and the experimental apparatus. An even larger part is devoted to the description of field surveys and practices in important European buildings.
From medieval globes made when much of the world was unexplored to the huge, decorative examples made for the princely courts of Renaissance Europe, this book celebrates the art and history of the globe, focusing on the four hundred years when the printed globe - as navigational tool, scientific instrument and powerful status symbol - occupied an important place in the history of European exploration. It ranges from the first globe ever made in China to the desktop models in Victorian schoolrooms, and from celestial globes of the sixteenth century to charming pocket examples produced as educational toys. Featuring sixty examples drawn from major collections around the world, this is a major new book on the subject for the general reader and collectors alike, and uses stunning new photography to pick out the revealing details - ships and sea monsters, navigators' tracks and newly found islands, constellations and astronomical features - that help us to understand why globes were made and how they were used. The major globe collection of the British Library - which is rarely seen and has now been photographed for the first time - forms the cornerstone of this beautifully illustrated book. Written from the unique perspective of the world's leading conservator of globes, it tells the story of the skill and craftsmanship needed to produce these exceptional and beautifully preserved globes.
In providing an accessible overview of the history and technology of the major traditional colour photographic processes, this abundantly illustrated volume promises to become the standard reference in its field. Following an introductory chapter on colour photography in the 19th century, seven chapters discuss the most commercially or historically significant processes of the 20th century, offering readers a user-friendly guide to materials, methods of identification and common kinds of deterioration. A final chapter presents specific guidelines for collection management, storage and preservation, and a glossary of technical terms, along with appendixes presenting detailed chronologies for Kodachrome and Ektachrome transparencies, Cibachrome/Ilfochrome printing materials and Instant Films.
Illustrated thoroughly, Biomolecular Archaeology is the first book to clearly guide students through the study of ancient DNA: how to analyze biomolecular evidence (DNA, proteins, lipids and carbohydrates) to address important archaeological questions. The first book to address the scope and methods of this new cross–disciplinary area of research for archaeologists. Offers a completely up–to–date overview of the latest research in this innovative subject. Guides students who wish to become biomolecular archaeologists through the complexities of both the scientific methods and archaeological goals. Provides an essential component to undergraduate and graduate archaeological research
A classic in its field, Human Osteology has been used by students and professionals through nearly two decades. Now revised and updated for a third edition, the book continues to build on its foundation of detailed photographs and practical real-world application of science. New information, expanded coverage of existing chapters, and additional supportive photographs keep this book current and valuable for both classroom and field work. Osteologists, archaeologists, anatomists, forensic scientists and paleontologists will all find practical information on accurately identifying, recovering, and analyzing and reporting on human skeletal remains and on making correct deductions from those remains.
The Adhesive Compendium for Conservation offers information, guidelines and research results on the proper use of adhesives in conservation. The book is broken down into three sections: the first provides information on liquid and solid adhesive properties, bonding and consolidation; the second is dedicated to technical and aging information on each adhesive class, including adhesive facts, characteristics and handling properties, and reviews of relevant aging studies; and the third is devoted to discussing how adhesives are chosen for each conservation subdiscipline. The Adhesive Compendium for Conservation provides an easy reference on an exhaustive range of adhesives, making it an invaluable asset for conservation professionals and students alike.
Published on the occasion of an exhibition at the J. Paul Getty Museum focusing on the conservation of the Victoria and Albert Museum's Mazarin Chest, from March 3 to May 24, 2009, this is the first English translation of Jesuit Filippo Bonanni's eighteenth-century treatise, considered the most important and comprehensive early study of Chinese lacquer in Europe. Bonanni relates various authors' attempts to understand and analyze the composition of the newly imported Chinese lacquer. He lists a variety of recipes of the time as well as their effectiveness—including several European recipes developed as an affordable alternative to the Chinese import—and offers what he considers the most reliable recipe, as well as his own appraisal of the best uses and applications of the lacquer. An invaluable primary source for scholars and conservators.